Home » Uncategorized » WHAT IS THIS WHITE STUFF, SAYS THE DOG AND I?

WHAT IS THIS WHITE STUFF, SAYS THE DOG AND I?

Image

How can it be that you sneak up
and surprise me so
every single year?
It’s not like you’re novel, or new,
something unexpected at all
And still, the first time I look outside
and see that you’ve come
Stealing ever-so-quietly, like a
thief in the night, only not
taking a thing

In fact quite the opposite, for
you come bearing loads
of stuff
How is it I feel taken aback, my
heart’s in my throat, I find
it difficult to breathe
As I regard the way you’ve
remade the landscape
from just the day before

Every recognizable surface,
each house, car and tree
is now blurred indistinct
and covered completely
with three feet of snow
And the air is thick with flakes
that show no sign of abating
so the outside becomes
less recognizable every
minute

I let the dog out to do whatever
dogs need to do
And first, he stares back over
his shoulder at me
As if to say, “where is the deck?”
before breaking a trail into
the yard…
He’s a big woolly sort, part wolf
actually, so gets into the spirit
quite quickly
And rolls around, having a snow-
bath before he realizes
The temperature has also dipped
below suitable snow-bath
limits

He’s wolfish, but aging, so quite
quickly limps back up his
barely new trail
Holding one frozen paw after
the other up in the air, looking
sad and forlorn…

This exercise is repeated as many
times as necessary during the day
and the night
Which given as noted, aging wolfish
canines need, is numerous
and each time, the look of betrayal
over his shoulder says clearly,
“How could you?”
As if we are somehow responsible
for the ever-increasing accumulation
of snow and cold
And the need for him to have to break
a fresh trail
(Never mind there’s nowhere to squat
for his other serious business – that look
of disgust knows no bounds)

So, much as I might get caught by surprise
every year by winter’s first storm
My shock seems to pale when compared
to that of my pet’s

 

 

14 thoughts on “WHAT IS THIS WHITE STUFF, SAYS THE DOG AND I?

  1. Took me long enough to get back here and read comments but I’m so glad I did finally make it as all of them were well-worth reading. Thanks to all of you for taking the time to stop by, read, ponder, then drop a few words or lines. I really do appreciate it.

  2. We rarely get snow where I live, but have had snow on the ground 4 days and my little cock-a-poo is not happy about it at all. So your poem really made me smile. Peace, Linda

  3. Very sweet–my dog – a bichon–surprisingly loved the snow. She just loved to lick it–not so much to jump around in it. Your poem describes the wonderful surprise of snow so well. k.

  4. Sweet.. I don’t get snow here in CA but my aging dog feels the same way about rain.. always looking over her shoulder. Great images. I grew up with snow and it was always like that… such a surprise.. all that snow.. year after year.

  5. Awww…I love watching an old dog being young on a nice snowy day! Our old Pyr was in full puppy mode today for a while. The others were less enthusiastic! ha ha…love this poem. Nicely done. Thanks for joining us!

  6. three feet…that is awesome…i so miss getting snow like that…ha…not easy for the pups to break a trail in that…ha the look from the pups as if you had been doing it made me chuckle…i envy your snow

  7. Ha, my dogs don’t like to do what dogs need to do when there is so much cold and whiteness….even though I shovel a place for them, as they are so so small they would drowned in the white stuff otherwise. Their paws freeze, and I pick them up. They are small, so I can do that. Winter does sneak up on me every year as well. Even though I have lived with it all my life, each year it is new to me too.

  8. smiles… the pleasures and challenges of snow… for me it’s still magical… when it has snowed i know the moment when i wake up, even with the blinds closed and everything…it just feels different…

If you took the time to read my words, I'd love to read yours...

